Tim Garson
Kathryn Thornton (Engr ’74)
Courtney Mallow (Col ’10)
Benjamin Chrisinger (Col ’10)
Mark Bernardino (Col ’74, Educ ’78)

Moving On

Dr. Arthur “Tim” Garson, executive vice president and provost, will leave UVA in May 2011 to serve as senior vice president for health policy and health systems at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston. In his nine years at the University—six as dean of the School of Medicine and three as provost—Garson has helped develop various new programs and approaches to scholarship. He is a leading expert on international and public health solutions research.

High Marks

A number of University of Virginia graduate schools and programs are among the nation’s best, according to the U.S. News & World Report’s latest rankings of America’s top graduate schools. The School of Law (10), Darden School of Business (13), Curry School of Education (21), School of Medicine (25 research, 39 primary care) and School of Engineering and Applied Science (39) ranked in the top 50. Graduate School of Arts & Sciences programs included in the rankings were physics (40), chemistry (45) and biological sciences (46).

Hall of Famer

Kathryn Thornton (Engr ’74), retired NASA astronaut and associate dean of graduate programs at UVA’s School of Engineering and Applied Science, was inducted into the Astronaut Hall of Fame on June 5. Thornton served as an astronaut for 12 years and logged 975 hours in space and more than 16 million miles in orbit before joining the Engineering School faculty in 1996.

Sullivan Award Recipients

Courtney Mallow (Col ’10), Benjamin Chrisinger (Col ’10) and Mark Bernardino (Col ’74, Educ ’78) received the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award during this year’s Valedictory Exercises. Mallow developed creative service and learning projects in Nicaragua; Chrisinger planned a student residence around sustainable living; Bernardino is in his 32nd year as swimming coach. The Sullivan Award is presented to members of the University community who have demonstrated outstanding compassion for others and commitment to service.

New Board Members

Four new members have been appointed to the University’s Board of Visitors. Hunter E. Craig is president of Hunter E. Craig Co.; Marvin W. Gilliam Jr. is former vice president of Cumberland Resources Corp.; Sheila C. Johnson is founder and CEO of Salamander Hospitality, LLC; and Mark Kington is managing director of X-10 Capital Management and president of Kington Management Corp.