New Executive VP and COO

Patrick D. Hogan Dan Addison
President Teresa A. Sullivan has chosen Patrick D. Hogan to be UVA's new executive vice president and chief operating officer, effective Oct. 25. Hogan, who spent more than 35 years with the global professional services firm Ernst & Young, has a background in finance, operations and health care. He will oversee the financial affairs of the University and each of its schools and divisions, including the Medical Center.

Hogan, 60, succeeds Michael Strine, who resigned in August after 13 months in the position.

Dean of Medical School to Step Down

Dr. Steven T. DeKosky, a world-renowned Alzheimer's disease researcher and dean of the University of Virginia School of Medicine, is stepping down in June. He will remain on the faculty and continue his research and patient care.

"The University has benefitted from Steve DeKosky's leadership in creating new educational models and collaboration in setting the course for our Health System clinical enterprise," says John Simon, UVA's provost. Simon will lead a search to find a replacement for DeKosky.

Mormon Studies Chair to be Established

Kevin Hart
The University will establish an endowed chair of Mormon studies within the Department of Religious Studies.

UVA's Richard Lyman Bushman Chair is being established with a $3 million endowment funded by anonymous donors. An appointment to the chair is expected for the 2013-14 academic year.

"Three years ago, the department identified Mormon studies as an emerging field that merited serious academic study," says Kevin Hart, a professor of Christian studies who led the effort to establish the chair. "We have seen growing interest on the part of both faculty and students from a wide variety of academic specialties."

The chair is named after Richard Lyman Bushman, considered one of the nation's leading scholars in religious history and a professor emeritus at Columbia University.

2012 Jefferson Awards

Patricia Lampkin, Teresa Sullivan and William Quandt
Patricia M. Lampkin, vice president and chief student affairs officer, and William B. Quandt, professor of government and foreign affairs, are the recipients of the 2012 Thomas Jefferson Awards. Lampkin (Educ '86) was recognized for excellence in service and Quandt was honored for excellence in scholarship.

The awards honor those in the University community who best exemplify in character, work and influence the principles and ideals of Thomas Jefferson, and have advanced in their daily work the objectives for which Jefferson founded the University.