Skip to main content

High Honors

Law professor and association dean receive Jefferson Awards

The University’s most prestigious honor for faculty members is the Thomas Jefferson Award. As is customary, the awards were given at Fall Convocation in September.

Rector George Keith Martin, A.E. Dick Howard, Gordon M. Stewart and President Teresa A. Sullivan

A.E. Dick Howard
Excellence in Scholarship
In his 50th year on the School of Law faculty, Howard (Law ’61) is one of the world’s leading constitutional scholars. While earning his law degree at UVA, he was selected as a Rhodes Scholar. Howard joined the UVA faculty in 1964 after clerking for the late U.S. Supreme Court Justice Hugo Black, during which time he developed his interest in constitutional law.

Gordon Stewart
Excellence in Service
Stewart has been at the University for 41 years. After coming to UVA as an assistant professor of German, he became a central figure in developing the association dean student-advising model, under which Stewart and his association dean peers serve as classroom instructors and key advisors to students who are assigned based on their first-year residence.