Bicentennial Launch celebration

On October 6, tens of thousands joined in the launch of the University’s Bicentennial celebration. For more information, go to

The Rotunda fire of 1895 is re-enacted in dramatic fashion using digital mapping technology. Dan Addison

Former Poet Laureate and UVA Professor Rita Dove shares a new poem with the crowd. Dan Addison

IRC dorm renamed

Steve Hedberg

The International Residential College dorm Lewis House has been renamed Yen House in honor of W. W. Yen, who in 1900 was the first student from China to graduate from UVA. Yen went on to become premier and acting president of China in the 1920s. “Mr. Yen serves as a distinguished example of a true global scholar committed to cross-cultural exchange, peace, and goodwill,” the September Board of Visitors resolution reads.

Lewis House had been named after former UVA Dean Ivey Foreman Lewis, who was also a biology professor and eugenicist.

Faculty updates

Kenneth G. Elzinga Dan Addison

The Board of Visitors has approved the creation of the Kenneth G. Elzinga Professorship in Economics and the Law in honor of the longtime UVA economics professor. Alumni, parents, students and other supporters have committed $3 million to its endowment fund.

Gary Gallagher Dan Addison

Gary Gallagher, the John L. Nau III Professor in the History of the American Civil War and the director of the Nau Civil War Center, will be retiring in the spring after 20 years at UVA. The recipient of the Cavaliers’ Distinguished Teaching Professorship for 2010–12 says he will miss his 8 a.m. lectures with 150 wide-eyed students. “The questions don’t get any bigger, the stakes don’t get any higher, than they were during the Civil War,” says Gallagher, 67. “To me, you have to really try hard to make the Civil War boring. … I think it’s inherently fascinating and important.”

Rachel Most Dan Addison

Rachel Most, the associate dean for undergraduate academic programs, received the 2017 Elizabeth Zintl Leadership Award, which recognizes a female University employee whose work has made an impact on student learning. Past winners include Sylvia Terry (Grad ’72), Patricia Lampkin (Educ ’86), Jane Miller and Pamela Norris. “I am incredibly honored,” Most says. “It’s really an amazing group of women who I admire across the board.”

Bring your clear bag

If you’re thinking about attending a home basketball or football game, be prepared for new security measures. Upon the recommendation of a consultant, the University has instituted a policy that limits the size and type of bags that can be brought into John Paul Jones Arena and Scott Stadium.

Bags must be clear, plastic vinyl or PVC and cannot be larger than 12 by 6 by 12 inches. Clear, one-gallon plastic freezer bags are permitted.

Clutch bags no bigger than 4 by 6 inches (with or without a handle or strap) can be taken into the venue and are subject to search.

Exceptions will be made for medical items, but those also require inspection.