Rookie Sensation

Sylven Landesberg (Col ’12), a first-year guard on the men’s basketball team, was named 2009 ACC Rookie of the Year. He joins Ralph Sampson (1980), Bryant Stith (1989) and Chris Williams (1999) as UVA players to receive the honor.

Legends of the Ball

Valerie Ackerman (Col ’81), one of the first female scholarship athletes at UVA and a four-year starter on the basketball team, was among 11 former student-athletes named to the fifth class of ACC Women’s Basketball Legends. She currently is president of USA Basketball.

In the Fast Lane

The men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams are ACC champions again this season. Matt McLean (Col ’11) became the first men’s swimmer in conference history to be named the ACC meet’s most valuable swimmer in consecutive years.

Strong Finish

A tie with Florida State at the ACC championships gave the UVA men’s track and field team its first conference title in an outdoor season. In his first year as Virginia’s track coach, Jason Vigilante was named 2009 ACC Men’s Coach of the Year.