Skip to main content

BOV Changes

Steve Hedberg

New roles

Frank M. “Rusty” Conner III (Col ’78, Law ’81): The former vice rector has begun a two-year term as rector (see related story).
James B. Murray Jr. (Col ’68): A Board member since 2016, the founder and managing director of venture capital firm Court Square Ventures has begun a two-year term as vice rector.

New members

(Appointed to the Board by Gov. Terry McAuliffe)

Robert M. “Bob” Blue (Col ’89, Darden ’08): President of Dominion Virginia Power; former director of policy for former Gov. Mark Warner.
Robert D. Hardie (Col ’87, Darden ’95): Hardie’s second stint on the Board after being appointed by former Gov. Tim Kaine in 2008; son-in-law and business associate of former rector William Goodwin (Darden ’66).
Maurice A. Jones (Law ’92): Former deputy secretary for U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and Virginia’s secretary of commerce and trade under McAuliffe.


John A. Griffin (Com ’85): President of hedge fund Blue Ridge Capital was appointed by former Gov. Bob McDonnell in 2013.

Rolled off

(Appointed to the Board by McDonnell in 2013)

William H. Goodwin (Darden ’66): Served as rector for two years; also served on the Board from 1996-2004. Retired chairman and president of real estate investment company Riverstone Group.
Kevin J. Fay (Col ’77): CEO of the consulting firm Alcade & Fay; recently took over as chair of the UVA Foundation’s board of directors.
Frank Genovese (Darden ’74): President of investment company The Rothbury Corporation; former Darden School Foundation trustee.